Featured Image

A rear-end collision can cause serious injuries, including whiplash. If you or a loved one suffered injuries in a rear-end collision, a Fayetteville, Arkansas car accident lawyer can help you assign blame and fight for compensation. If someone’s actions or negligence caused you harm, they need to be held accountable.

Who Gets Blamed for a Rear-End Collision?

The rear driver will often get blamed for a rear-end collision. They can be accused of following too closely, speeding, and not paying attention to traffic conditions.

However, the lead driver could also be responsible for the accident. If a lead driver has broken brake lights, that could have contributed to the collision. They could also be at least partly responsible if they were engaging in dangerous behaviors, like “brake checking” the car behind them.

What Should I Do After a Rear-End Collision?

There are a few things that you should do after an accident, once everyone is pulled over and out of the way of traffic. You should:

  • Call the police
  • Talk to any witnesses
  • Exchange information with the other driver
  • Get any medical care that you need

Then, if you decide to pursue damages, you may want to talk to an experienced car accident attorney.

Do I Need a Personal Injury Lawyer?

You are not required to hire an attorney if you decide to move forward with a personal injury suit. We recommend it though. An attorney from our firm can help you with all aspects of your case and act as your advocate at every turn. They are especially helpful when it comes to:

The statute of limitations: You have a limited time to file a personal injury case. In the state of Arkansas, that statute of limitations is three years. It seems like a lot of time, but you do not want to miss your chance to pursue compensation. Acting quickly after an accident can ensure that your lawyer starts the legal process and can begin building a case.

The bar rule: The state’s 50 percent bar rule acknowledges that much of the time, all of the drivers involved in a car accident contributed to it in some way. As long as you are less than 50 percent responsible for an accident, you can receive damages. If you are determined to be partially responsible, that award can be reduced.

For example, you are determined to be 40 percent responsible for an accident and entitled to $100,000. You end up receiving $60,000 because you held 40 percent of the blame. A lawyer can help defend you from accusations of wrongdoing so that you can receive the best possible settlement.

Communications with insurance companies: Your lawyer can communicate on your behalf, so you do not have to worry about talking to insurance companies or possibly saying something that can affect your case.

Contact Our Legal Team

If you were injured in an auto accident, you do not need to pursue justice on your own. Contact the Knapp Law Firm today and schedule a free consultation. Our legal team will take the time to tell you more about how we can be of assistance.

Author Photo

Donald E. Knapp, Jr.

Throughout the Southeast, people in your circumstances have trusted Attorney Knapp and his team to resolve a wide variety of legal issues and aggressively work on their behalf.